APS President John C. Behrendt


The American Polar Society was founded November 29, 1934 to band together all persons interested in polar exploration. The American Polar Society is classified as a tax exempt organization under Section 501(C)3 of the IRS Code.

August Howard

John C. Behrendt

Vice Presidents
Jeffery C. Rubin
Robert H. Rutford, Ph.D.
James Collinson, Ph.D.

Kevin L. Bjella

Capt. David E. Baker

Membership Chair
Charkes Lagerbom

Board of Governors
    Peter J. Anderson Charles R. Kremenak, D.D.S.
    Billy-Ace Baker Captain David C. Nutt
    Colonel Peter Barretta Martin A. Pomerantz, Ph.D.
    Sheldon Bart Michele E. Raney, M.D.
    Charles R. Bentley, Ph.D. Mrs. Edith Ronne
    Lawson Brigham, Ph.D. Alan H. Shapley, Ph.D.
    Richard L. Chappell, Ph.D. Ms. Lynn Tipton-Everett
    Walter H. Dodd Captain W. E. West
    Donn K. Haglund, Ph.D.
Front Cover
July 2006, Vol. 3, No. 9
Click thumbnail to view full size image



Pictured on the front cover:
Norman D. Vaughan, 1905-2005.
      — Photo: Polar Times, Spring-Summer 1995


NE Cape (Gladstone) of Liverpool Land, East Greenland.

      — Photo by: Jean-Ives Jouanet
          (12 September 2005)


This issue of the Polar Times Features:
  • Tributes to Polar Explorer Norman Dane Vaughan
  • Letters from the current and immediate past APS Presidents
  • Ultimate North: The Storm at the Top of the World
  • Book and Movie Reviews
  • Selected International Polar Year News including details of the NSF IPY Web Site. This site will support IPY related news releases and other resources. The site may be viewed at: Click Here
HEADS UP! Mark your calendar for the APS Symposium to be held at Ohio State University at the Byrd Polar Research Center in April 2007.




APS Members are reminded to take advantage of the Business Reply Cards that were included with this issue of the Polar Times to extend your own membership, give gift memberships to the American Polar Society to friends and acquaintances at the special price of $9 for one years or $17.50 for two years ($10.00 and $19.00 outside the U.S.). Institutional gift memberships are also available. $50 for three years within the U.S. and for $59 outside the U.S.

Non members wishing to join the APS may join at the special introductory rate of $10 for one year or $18.50 for two years ($12 and $21.50 outside the U.S.). Membership Applications and remittance should be mailed to the Membership Center address below.

  • Annual Membership Dues $15.00 Foreign $17.00
  • Library Rate Dues 20.00. Foreign $22.00
  • Annual Corporate Rate $100.00
  • Life Membership $250.00. Foreign $275.00
  • Benefits:
    • The Polar Times (two issues per year)
    • Corporate Memberships receive 10 copies
    • Society Pins: $5.00 each (must order)
    • Society Patch: See box below)
  • The Polar Times Staff:
    • Editor: Cliff Bekkedahl
    • Arctic Editor: David Norton
    • Antarctic Editor: Jeff Rubin
    • Contributing Editors:
      • Billy-Ace Baker
      • Peter Barreta Jr.
      • Peter Anderson
      • Able Shafer
    • Production Editor: Charlotte Sinclaire
    • Webmaster: Billy-Ace Baker

  • Embroidered APS logo patches. Size 4X4
  • Price: $7.50 each or two for $12.00
  • Make checks payable to the American Polar Society
  • Mail to:
    American Polar Society Membership Center
    PO Box 300
    Searsport, Maine 04974 USA
  • Contact Charles Lagerbom for more info at icechip@prexar.com

Membership Applications: PDF Version: Click here to download (AOL & NETSCAPE press RELOAD button)
Ms Word Version: Click here to download

For more information regarding membership in the society
please contact the American Polar Society Membership Chairman:

Charles Lagerbom
American Polar Society Membership Center
P.O. Box 300
Searsport, Maine 04974 USA
Email Address: icechip@prexar.com

POLAR LINKS (mostly Antarctic) related web sites.

You are the Counter visitor to this site
Since 01 February 2001.
Page Established 01 October 1999
Last updated on 18 October 2006

Sign Our Guestbook Guestbook by GuestWorld View Our Guestbook

Thanks for visiting our web site.
In the meantime, please come back soon!

Secretary Email Address: kevin.bjella@erdc.usace.army.mil

Webmaster Email Address: upizauf@aol.com

1 1